About Us


 MO012 Logo


The ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis, Inc. is a non-profit organization of culinary professionals dedicated to furthering the education, certification and camaraderie within our culinary community, and responding to the social and nutritional needs of our community at large.

As the St. Louis chapter of the American Culinary Federation, we are a proud part of the largest professional chefs' organization in North America. Established in 1929, the American Culinary Federation (ACF) was formed by the combined visions of three chefs' associations in New York, and is now comprised of more than 18,000 members in 240 chapters across the United States.

Chef’s de Cuisine Association of St. Louis, Inc. focuses on assisting the culinary education, and certification of professional cooks and chefs. Our events and programs focus on continuing education in the culinary and nutritional arts. We are active fund raisers, to benefit culinary grants and scholarships, to fund our Knowledge Bowl and Culinary Cooking Teams, to assist our fellow professionals in their times of need, and in our Chef and Child outreach program, to educate children on proper nutrition.

We cordially invite you to join us for any of our meetings and events, regardless of your culinary background. You will find our fellowship welcoming, educational, and genuinely interested and interesting.

The American Culinary Federation and the ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis, Inc. are members of the World Association of Chefs Societies.

American Academy of Chefs

The American Academy of Chefs (AAC) is the Honor Society of the American Culinary Federation (ACF) and was organized in 1952 by the ACF Board of Directors. The Academy is a way for the ACF to recognize the achievements of its fellow culinarians. The leadership of the AAC is through the Chair and National Vice Chair, both of whom are elected by Academy fellows.

The Academy’s Mission

The goal of the Academy fellows is to demonstrate the highest standards of professionalism within the organization, the food service industry, and within the society at-large. AAC fellows always promote education in within our profession and support those efforts by passing on the skills, training, and expertise they possess. AAC fellows are always accountable for presenting a positive image throughout the local, regional, and national communities at events they attend and sponsor.

To obtain an official American Academy of Chefs application, an applicant must have his or her chapter president or other chapter officer request an application on the individual’s behalf from the AAC National Office. An applicant may not request his or her own application. Fellowship in the American Academy of Chefs shall be composed of ACF Certified Master Chefs, Certified Master Pastry Chefs, Certified Executive Chefs, Certified Executive Pastry Chefs, and Certified Culinary Educators of honorable character. These chefs must have a minimum of fifteen years culinary experience

in which at least two years have been as a Certified Executive Chef/Pastry Chef or Certified Culinary Educator. The applicant must be an active member of the ACF.

Local, Regional & National AAC Activities

Fellows of the Academy should be leaders within their own chapters, spearheading the chapter’s activities.

Academy fellows should be willing to accept the role of foodservice advisor in local junior colleges or secondary school programs, as well as be willing to assist in regional Academy dinners, cooperating with sister chapters.

Academy fellows should be proud of their fellowship in the Honor Society of the American Culinary Federation and in their profession, and should always list certification and Academy fellowship designation after their name.

Academy fellows should strive to further the education of our young culinarians by utilizing programs such as the Sharing Culinary Traditions (SCT) Educational Program. The SCT is designed to pass on invaluable culinary skills and traditions, teach fundamentals of the profession, encourage high-quality work ethics, and promote and foster professionalism.

For more information on this prestigious group, please go the www.acfchefs.org, and click on Programs and Initiatives.


Chefs de Cuisine Members of AAC

Twenty-three members within the Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis, Inc. have been inducted into the American Academy of Chefs. They are:

Wolfgang A. Bierer CMPC, AAC
John E. Bogacki CEC, CCE, AAC
Christopher Desens CEC, AAC
George Dyhouse CEC, AAC
Thomas Elkin CEC, AAC
Christine Ford-Schlafly AAC (Honorary)
Andre Gotti CEC, AAC
Brian Hardy CEC
Rob Hertel CEC, CCE, AAC, FMP
Helmut Loible AAC
Lynn Krause CEPC, AAC
Aidan P. Murphy CMC, AAC
Casey Shiller CEPC, CCE, AAC
Oliver H. "Ollie" Sommer CEC, AAC
Kevin Storm CEC, AAC
Jan G. Verdonkschot CEC, AAC
       (AAC National Hall of Fame, 2004)

Wolfgang von Dressler AAC
Manfred P. Zettl CEC, AAC
Buel Day (deceased)
Salvatore Carcagno (deceased)
Dubois TC Chen (deceased)
Edwin Keller (deceased)
George Killus (deceased)
Edgar Mason (deceased)

Back to top

The Chefs de Cuisine Education Foundation offers scholarships to students enrolled full-time in accredited culinary programs and continuing education scholarships to professional members. The Education Foundation also supports chapter sponsored Junior Chef competition teams and national ACF competition teams on which local members reside. See the "Education" page for details and scholarship application deadlines. The Education Foundation may be contacted at the following address:

St. Louis Chefs de Cuisine Educational Foundation
PO Box 510301
St. Louis, MO 63151


Back to top


The mission of the ACF Chef and Child Foundation is “To educate children and families in understanding proper nutrition through community-based initiatives led by the American Culinary Federation chef members, and to be the voice of the culinary industry in its fight against childhood hunger, malnutrition and obesity.”

The Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis has operated a very active Chef and Child program, Contactthe co-chairs, Mary Denny or Margaret Grant for more information or for ways that you can help.

Back to top